back to list
Hunter Safety (Firearms) Course - April 20 & April 30 - 2017Thursday, April 20, 2017 - Sunday, April 30, 2017
Kittery Trading Post is pleased to offer our Firearms Hunter Safety Course free to the general public. By Maine state law, individuals must complete a hunter education course or be able to show a previously issued license of the same type prior to buying a basic hunting (firearms) license.
**THIS CLASS HAS BEEN FILLED AS OF 4/4/17**
PART 1: Thursday, April 20, 6pm–9pm
PART 2: Sunday, April 30, 10am–6pm
THIS IS A HOME STUDY COURSE. HOME STUDY REQUIRES ATTENDANCE AT BOTH SESSIONS AS WELL AS STUDY AT HOME.
The Home Study Course consists of about 9 hours of classroom instruction broken up into a 3 hour introduction class followed by a second day of classroom and activities. Students are required to complete a workbook or chapter reviews from an online course, both of which complement the student manual. Students must demonstrate to the instructor that they can safely handle a firearm, participate in activities, bring in a survival kit with appropriate contents and pass a 50 question test with a grade of at least 70%.
All of KTP's Hunter Safety courses are team taught. This course is led by KTP’s John Klosenski, Nick Howard and George Hockhousen. John also teaches Hunter Safety Instructor courses and holds the #1 and #2 Hunter Safety (Crossbow) Instructor Trainer certificates for the state of Maine.
If you would like to refresh your knowledge of safe and responsible hunting, then taking a hunter education course is a great idea.From the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife:
The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife's Hunter Education Course is more than a "gun safety" class. The basic mandatory course consists of classroom instruction. Each course is taught by a trained, certified volunteer instructor according to statewide standards. The course covers the following topics:
- Proper Handling
- Rifle and Shotgun
- Survival/First Aid
- Hunter Responsibility
- Map and Compass
- Landowner Relations
Students are provided with a course handbook, outdoor survival information, and additional handouts. Courses involve lectures and demonstrations by instructors, homework, field experiences and a final written exam. You must attend every day of the class in order to receive your certificate.
Students must be at least 10 years of age to attend a class for firearms.
For more information on Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Hunter Education, visit http://www.state.me.us/ifw/education/safety/ This Firearms Hunter Safety Course at Kittery Trading Post is limited to 50, and usually fills up fast: For more information and to reserve yourself a space in the class please email email@example.com, call 1-888-KTP-MAINE or stop by Kittery Trading Post and sign up in person at the Customer Service Counter.
Date: April 20, 2017 - April 30, 2017
Kittery Trading Post Katahdin Seminar Room