Hunter Safety (Firearms) Course
Kittery Trading Post is pleased to again offer our Hunter Safety (Firearms) Course free to the general public. By Maine state law, individuals must complete a hunter education course or be able to show a previously issued license of the same type prior to buying a basic hunting (firearms) license.
Thursday, July 12, 6pm–9pm (class is full)
Sunday, July 22, 9am–5pm (class is full)
THIS IS A HOME STUDY COURSE.
HOMESTUDY REQUIRES ATTENDANCE AT BOTH SESSIONS AS WELL AS STUDY AT HOME.
Kittery Trading Post is pleased to again offer our Hunter Safety (Firearms) course free to the general public. By Maine state law, individuals must complete a hunter education course or be able to show a previously issued license of the same type prior to buying a basic hunting (firearms) license.
All of KTP's Hunter Safety courses are team taught. Led by John Peterson and John Klosenski, the team includes seasoned KTP staff instructors Dana Poole and Bob Cody. John and John also teach Hunter Safety Instructor courses and hold the #1 and #2 Hunter Safety (Crossbow) Instructor Trainer certificates for the state of Maine.
If you would like to refresh your knowledge of safe and responsible hunting, then taking a hunter education course is a great idea.
From the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife:
The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife's Hunter Education Course is more than a "gun safety" class. The basic mandatory course consists of classroom instruction. Each course is taught by a trained, certified volunteer instructor according to statewide standards. The course covers the following topics:
|Proper Handling ||2 Hours|
|Rifle and Shotgun ||2 Hours (1 hr. each)|
|Survival/First Aid ||2 Hours|
|Hunter Responsibility ||2 Hours|
|Map and Compass ||2 Hours|
|Landowner Relations ||1 Hour|
|Time as Needed in Course ||1 Hour|
| Total Course ||12 Hours|
Students are provided with a course handbook, outdoor survival information, and additional handouts. Courses involve lectures and demonstrations by instructors, homework, field experiences and a final written exam. The minimum course length is 12 hours, although many will average more. You must attend every day of the class in order to receive your certificate. Students must be at least 10 years of age to attend a class for firearms.
For more information on Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Hunter Education, visit http://www.state.me.us/ifw/education/safety/
This Firearms Hunter Safety Course at Kittery Trading Post usually fills up fast: For more information and to reserve yourself a space in the class please email firstname.lastname@example.org, call 1-888-KTP-MAINE or stop by Kittery Trading Post and sign up in person at the Customer Service Counter. As of June 1, this class has been filled.
Date: July 12, 2012
Kittery Trading Post Katahdin Seminar Room